South Dakota Measure to Ban Delta-8 THC Approved by Senate Committee, Already Passed House

A bill that would ban the production, distribution and possession of THC derived from hemp, including delta-8 and delta-10 THC, has been unanimously passed by its first Senate Committee.

(Photo credit: Zatural).

The Senate Health and Human Services Committee voted 7 to 0 to pass House Bill 1125, shortly after it was approved – also unanimously – through the full House of Representatives. The Senate is expected to vote on the measure next week, with passage sending it to Governor Kristi Noem for consideration.

The legislation states that no person or entity may:

  • Chemically modify or convert industrial hemp as defined in § 38-35-1, or engage in any process that converts cannabidiol, into delta-8 tetrahydrocannabinol, delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol, delta-10 tetrahydrocannabinol, or any other tetrahydrocannabinol isomer, analog, or derivative; or
  • Sell or distribute industrial hemp or an industrial hemp product that contains chemically derived cannabinoids or cannabinoids created by chemically modifying or converting a hemp extract.

A violation of this section would be a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to three years in prison. An amendment approved in committee also makes simple possession of delta-8 and delta-10 THC a misdemeanor.

The full text of House Bill 1125 can be found by clicking here.

Currently 17 states ban the production and distribution of delta-8 THC.

Thank you for reading The Marijuana Herald! You can sign up for our weekly newsletter at the form below, and you can find more news stories by clicking here.